FAQ  •   Login  •   Register  •   Subscribe 

Welcome to the Forum for InventorSpot.com, the most popular invention related website in the world. Read our welcome message.

Skip to content

Moderators: Michelle, Scrupulous, citizen

"MIDair" - my story

Postby Let-Them-Fly » Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:54 am

Let-Them-Fly
Yellow Belt

I am Frank White, 52, from the Piedmont Triad region of North Carolina. Married 28 years with 3 grown daughters and 7 beautiful grandchildren. I’m a US Army Veteran, licensed Funeral Director/Embalmer, professional Artist specializing in Aviation Art/Landscapes, I do freelance Graphic Design/Instructional Schematics, and a Master scale modeler.
My “escape” resides in a 12-string electric guitar that's played a minimum of 20 minutes per day.

One of the ultimate goals of aviation related modeling & diorama construction is portraying the aircraft as though they are in-flight. There are several methods which offer a “forced-view” display, meaning the plane looks like it’s floating ONLY if viewed from a certain angle. The answer finally reveald itself by way of my then 3 year old grandson, and with some T&E, I tested the first real Floating Display concept, which surprisingly produced a three and four dimensional view without a mounting post/wire to obstruct the scene.
"The subject appears to float before your eyes!"Image

The mechanics seemed simple enough so I began searching for references, but there were none to be found. I employed a Patent Attorney to conduct a Patent Search which only returned 15 relevant results; NONE of then even came close! That’s how it all started! “Out of the mouths of babes…”; Aaron taught me a valuable lesson; look at the problem with the eyes of a child! You’ve seen four and five year olds take a mixed-up Rubic’s Cube and have it solved in short order, why, because they don’t ’see" the impossibilities we do, they just go straight to the most basic solution.