FAQ  •   Login  •   Register  •   Subscribe 

Welcome to the Forum for InventorSpot.com, the most popular invention related website in the world. Read our welcome message.

Skip to content

Moderators: Michelle, Scrupulous, Roger Brown, citizen

What should/do inventors major in college?

Postby NP Tyler » Sat Jan 12, 2008 9:36 pm

NP Tyler
White Belt

I was thinking that engineering would be one of the better choices for getting a degree in college when one's goal is to be an inventor. But which type of engineering applies to which aspect? I'm currently a freshman in college and keep changing majors. My advisers are terrible and offer little to no help and keep giving me contact information to the next person which turns out to be a waste of time as well. So I thought I'd ask the people who are inventors and have life experiences with this subject. Also, what is everyone's comment on getting a business degree as well?

Please, all comments are appreciated. I just want to make sure I'm on the right track. :(

Postby DSlackman » Sun Jan 13, 2008 7:03 am

DSlackman
Green Belt

NP Tyler

You are on the right track. Technical knowledge is important. Entrepreneurial ability is important. You might also want to think about focusing on the areas that excite you. There is no point in going into an area of study that bores you. Without excitement it's just another job.

D
Inventors Create the Future
http://www.cafepress.com/inventorshop

Postby CriterionD » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:20 pm

CriterionD
Blue Belt

For inventing, industrial design may be a decent option. I think its most specific to the actual invention process, and is something of a cross between engineering and marketing/entrepreneurship.