FAQ  •   Login  •   Register  •   Subscribe 

Welcome to the Forum for InventorSpot.com, the most popular invention related website in the world. Read our welcome message.

Skip to content

Moderators: Michelle, Scrupulous, citizen

Everyday Edisons An Awesome Opportunity

Postby Joe Casale » Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:52 pm

Joe Casale
White Belt

As the inventor of KoKu, one of the season 1B selections for the Everyday Edison's PBS-TV Series, I would like to explain a few things. I have designed numerous new concepts for dozens of corporations and many individual inventors. I have nearly 30 years experience as an Industrial Designer and have developed, invented and licensed several mass market products. The work that goes into patenting, designing, engineering, packaging and branding a new concept is vast, not to mention finding a viable corporation to license, market, advertise, sell and distribute an innovative new product concept. When an inventor has an opportunity to present an idea to an established company that says they will do all of the above, basically commercialize your idea, you know you are in the USA and the land of opportunity. As mentioned above, I have experienced all of the phases of inventing from a concept sketch to a product on the shelves of major retail outlets, however, I was never involved with all of the phases for any one of my other inventions. Most often when you license an idea to a major company, they claim it and do what they want to to benefit themselves, which is fine as long as you have a good contract. The Everyday Edison's experience was different in that they have kept me in the loop on all of the progress of the product. The key thing to understand with any new product, start-up or innovation is that if it truly unique, it will take more time than expected, otherwise it may not be as new or innovative an you might think. You see, treading through unchartered waters is what make the reward at the other end all that much greater. KoKu