FAQ  •   Login  •   Register  •   Subscribe 

Welcome to the Forum for InventorSpot.com, the most popular invention related website in the world. Read our welcome message.

Skip to content

Moderators: Scrupulous, Roger Brown, citizen

Damages from a newly granted patent?

Postby rougie » Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:16 pm

rougie
White Belt

Hello,

Suppose my patent has been patent pending for 6 months but gets publicized today. It gets granted say 2 years from today.

The invention claimed in the patent has never been sold or commercialized.

Can a mega Corp sue me for infringement issues and claim for damages from the day the patent was publicized to the day that my patent was granted?

All feedback is appreciated!

Regards
Rob

Postby Work2XL » Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:08 pm

Work2XL
Blue Belt

I'm not an expert on this buy my understanding is that you have to be notified you that they feel your are infringing. I believe they also have to get a court order telling you to stop. (I could be wrong) but from THAT date on they can collect damages for money made after that date IF they win the suit.

There are others here who are MUCH more knowledgeable than I who can weigh in to tell me how wrong I am.

Randy

Postby Scrupulous » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:59 pm

Scrupulous
Black Belt

If the product isn't being made then you're not doing anything illegal.

The situation of infringement in the document itself is legitimate (legal).

Postby Road Show » Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:56 pm

Road Show
Brown Belt

No product = No infringement.

Postby Scrupulous » Sun Mar 30, 2008 6:27 pm

Scrupulous
Black Belt

Bingo!

Postby rougie » Sun Mar 30, 2008 10:20 pm

rougie
White Belt

Hello, and thanks for your response.

The product is all too real and in R&D stage !

But even if I haven't made a dime on this invention can MegaCorp sue me for damages?

Please get back!
Rob

Postby rougie » Sun Mar 30, 2008 10:21 pm

rougie
White Belt

Hello, and thanks for your response.