FAQ  •   Login  •   Register  •   Subscribe 

Welcome to the Forum for InventorSpot.com, the most popular invention related website in the world. Read our welcome message.

Skip to content

Moderators: Scrupulous, Roger Brown, citizen

Creating A Website for E-Commerce

Postby DannyB » Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:04 pm

DannyB
Green Belt

I want to launch an online business selling a cookware invention. I have been researching this for a couple of years now and am down to needing a website.

I really don’t want to have somebody create a site for me. I would rather do it myself, not so much because of the initial cost, but because of the ongoing expense of updates, adhering to the site-builder’s schedule, etc. I just don’t want to be captive to a site-builder. I want to be in full control to make changes when I want to and to do it myself.

Here is the problem. I don’t have a clue where to start with leaning to create an eCommerce site. I just thought I did OK with computers. However, a site-building program was sent to me at no expense by my credit card merchant company. It was supposed to be simple. I have seen a portfolio of sites created with this program and some of them are great! However, I just can’t seem to get started with it. I am about finished with all of the information, sales information, etc. and started playing with this program and just gave up.

Can anybody recommend a site-building software program that really is easy to start with? It would help if it had a tutorial DVD to watch before even starting to work on the site.

Re: Creating A Website for E-Commerce

Postby CriterionD » Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:25 pm

CriterionD
Blue Belt

Hey Danny,

I know enough about this stuff to tell you...

A good site-designer will not hold you hostage. They will design your site, and you will should have access to the site afterwords via FTP. Maintaining a site that is already created is fairly simple and doesn't require that steep of a learning curve.