Hello J3131,
Interesting you should ask. I believe I have sufficient info to nicely wrap and box them at least for my personal satisfaction based on fourteen years of researching invention submission companies.
Let me begin stating that I received an email 7/6/09 via a patent attorney who anonymously received it (I tried the Whistleblower's email address and it bounced back) so I honestly don't know who the writer was. Anything below you should validate for yourself and not take my word for it.
===============================================================
1. 7/6/09 from an anonymous Whistleblower (nothing changed in the prose/ his-her quote follows):
"Hey, I worked for Invention Resources International for a short couple of months until I realized that Invention Resource International is a scam company.
Every Phase 1 report that I submitted came back identical to the next with the basic information changed.
Not only are they as scam company, but Invention Resource International is Advent Product Development... Advent just changed their name. And because the offices were all corporate suites, they just got new corporate suites in different locations. I'm sure you can do some digging to verify this...But that would make a great topic on your BLANK [info withheld by me to hide the attorney's ID]...To get you started...
Google this: invention resource international san diego
Now Google:
invention resource international denice thurlow (you'll see a linkedin profile that has been deleted...
Now Google: Advent Denise Thurlow Waters (you'll also notice in the lawsuit that Alphonso Eiland is named...He goes by Abe Eiland now and works out of the San Diego office of Invention Resource International)
Good luck... "
END QUOTE
===============================================================
* Note Advent Product Development's alleged stats according to a Google search:
http://inventblog.com/2007/05/advent-pr ... ate-0.htmlAdvent formerly called NISI. It was caught in an FTC sting and moved on. As I recall all its assets were bought out by Philip Farinacci or something like that. Its financing/licensing arm is allegedly referred to as Triad Resources, Inc.
http://www.inventored.org/caution/advent/http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/2 ... 286618.htm* Note the Whistle blower's misspelling of denice and Denise.....not sure which he thinks is correct but if you follow his directions you'll find it for yourself. He is definitely correct re office suites. Numerous invention companies use the same highrise located around the country called Regus International (rent by the day, week, or use their mail forwarding, phone answering etc services and even post the flashy highrise glass tower on one's site promoting it as the office location). In one case in Oregon last year, I had an inventor living an hour away call their supposed office saying she'd would be in the area and planned to pop in upon which she was told they are out most of the day handling this and that so not to do that as they do most of their business (make that all) via the Internet and Paypal. Onto ....the rest of the story.
6/26/09 Another Whistleblower claims she was asked to pay $895 and another $8,000-$10,000 three months after that.
2/21/09
www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/426/RipOff0426884.htmTheir corporate registration shows the offices of Regus International at 60 E. Rio Salado Pkwy, #900, Tempe, AZ. In two registration boxes it lists IRI JLJ LLC and in the other box IRI Tailwind LLC.
--JLJ appears to be Jerry L. Jerman Sr.
--The registration name was omitted for the other partner in the IRI Tailwind LLC box.
The domain IRI is registered to one D. Roberts.
Interestingly Scientist and Astronaut Ellen Ochoa recommends them.
Their BBB rating is A+ (what's new!). It names Alan Henrick as Director of Corporate Compliance.
Other sites they own include SellIdea; Invention Publicity; Idea4Invention (on it they push Davison, InventSAI and NewProduct Help (Yikes!)); Virtual-Prototype;FamousBlackInventors; Dannisblog;FamousHispanic Inventors........
Interestingly to me NewProductHelp (see above) also uses a Regis International suite but in Florida along with its "sister" company Patent Assistance Worldwide also in Florida and also using a Regus International suite as its address.
As with other invention websites IRI promotes inventions created by famous people as though they had something to do with them (Microwave, Duct Tape, Velcro, Kitty Litter) in my personal opinion (positioning I guess).
Even more interesting and yet to be fully explored is a link between IRI and VentureDirect which is owned by Platform Holdings both corporate giants. This seeming "spiders web" somewhat reminds me of Absolutely New formerly part of IP&R (see inventored.org link above) which employed Richard Donat as its CEO. At IP&R he was allegedly the protégé of sales/marketing guru AJ Gupta who got out opening up across the street in San Francisco (he's since moved) a competitive invention company to IP&R. IP&R was bought out/taken over by a VC......the claim now being they have changed their spots. Some of the same team it would appear at least to me personally work for Absolutely New as were employed by IP&R.
I don't watch soaps but the soap called "As the World Turns" sort of reminds me of how many invention companies open, shut down, reopen under a new identity for a couple of years then go through the same metamorphic process again and again.
As mentioned above, check the above for yourself to determine if it is true for you.
Regards,
Penny Ballou
PS to the administrator: How am I to support my statements if allowed only 4 links? That stinks! My only solution it would appear is to create one email after another on a topic listing 4 links per email if needed to support my findings so readers can validate each for themselves.